STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT

and to Ed Rameny, West Publishing Co John responsed. 10-14-77

ORDER

WHEREAS, the court has recognized a need to increase the annual registration fee to defray expenses of administering the State Board of Professional Responsibility; and

WHEREAS, the Minnesota State Bar Association has recommended an increase of the annual registration fee;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Rule 2 of the Amended Rules for Registration of Attorneys be amended to read as follows:

2. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigations for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such admission, with exceptions hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereafter annually, on or before the first day of January of each year after his original admission, pay to the clerk of the supreme court a registration fee in the sum of Forty Five Dollars (\$45.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter determine. All sums received shall be allocated as follows:

\$ 7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners \$ 5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education \$33.00 to the State Board of Professional Responsibility The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of Twenty Dollars (\$20.00):

(a) Any Attorney who has reached the age of 70
years and files annually with the clerk of supreme court
an affidavit that he is not engaged in the practice of law;

(b) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within this state;

(c) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years;

(d) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States;

(e) Any judge who is retired and no longer serves on the bench or practices law.

The Twenty Dollars (\$20.00) so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$ 7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners \$ 5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education \$ 8.00 to the State Board of Professional Responsibility.

Dated: August 1, 1977

AUG 1 1977

BY THE COURT